The Fire Industry Association's New Qualifications

Fire alarm

FIA AO: the Fire Industry Association Awarding Organisation

This year, far reaching changes will be made to the Fire Industry Association’s vocational qualifications. In a bid to better reflect recent changes, there will be a Foundation level, followed by four specialisms. These will be: Commissioner; Designer; Installer; Maintainer.

This is also covered in a video clip by FIA:

The reasoning behind this will give students a good grounding in the basics, followed by a career path of their own. Whether they want to become a commissioner, designer, installer, or maintainer, the Fire Industry Association’s new qualifications will be equivalent to Level 4 on the European Qualifications Framework. Or a Foundation Degree, or a Higher National Diploma.

To ensure standards are maintained, the Fire Industry Association Awarding Organisation has been set up. This is in cooperation with Ofqual.

On the qualifications, FIA AO Awarding Organisation Manager Ian Gurling said: ‘Our members and learners have very much guided us in the process of designing these new qualifications. Through surveys and feedback, we’ve kept an open dialogue with the industry to create qualifications that will be hugely beneficial to both learners and employers.’

Mertech Electrical, 20 April 2017.


Contact Us